I is for Indecision

One of the most frustrating parts about being unemployed is how difficult it is to make decisions about other parts of your life since you are in a holding pattern. This post should really be entitled “U for Uncertainty”, but I need an “I” post, so here it is.

In my case, one of the things starting to get worrisome is summer plans.  There are a lot of great summer camps in my area for kids, and if I were working, we’d probably have most of the summer schedule already picked out.  We have signed up for a few weeks at programs they’ll love, and that fill up fast.   However, I can’t justify or afford spending $500 a week or more to keep them occupied all day while I’m not working.   And if I’m not working by then, I make a pretty good camp counselor myself, and wouldn’t mind taking the kids on a low-budget camping road trip adventure instead.   If do end up finding a job close to the end of school, I fear that many of the good programs will be filled, and they’ll receive a daily 9-6 prison sentence milling around in the hot sun at a camp they hate.   

Of course the ideal situation would be that I have a job lined up and guaranteed to start right after Labor Day, but since I’m not a teacher, I’m not holding my breath on that one.   Plus, I‘ve kinda been there before.  Last fall I was told I had a job, then that it was delayed until January due to a hiring freeze.  In December a different person took over the department and decided not to hire for that position.  So no job after three months on hold.  I’m not holding any grudges, except against myself for not looking for a job last fall as a back-up option.   Another lesson learned. 

Still, the uncertainty (which leads to Indecision) is a challenge to face.   Still, I know that many job-seekers are facing far more difficult decisions that they also can’t make.   If you are in this situation, best of luck with not deciding.  It usually does work out in the end, even though the solution may not be apparent right now.  We just have to wait it out; it will work out, eventually.

One thought on “I is for Indecision

  1. It will work out, I agree, but what a frustrating place to be in at the moment. Like you said, so many things have to be decided far in advance, like summer camps, and that’s impossible to do with income uncertainty. As a freelancer (in addition to part-time psych instructor), I know this position well and empathize. Hope more stable times are coming your way soon!

Leave a Reply

