A Not So Great Week, Or Was It?

In terms of the raw statistics, it would appear that my job search is not going swimmingly after this past week.  That’s two “NO’s”, a likely “NO”, and a big question mark.  Although I’d be lying if I said there were no moments of self-doubt, I’m not feeling defeated.  Here’s why:

  1. The No (for now): screened out via a phone interview for a contract project manager position.  I received specific feedback why, which was a concern that I wasn’t deemed a sufficient power user of MS Project.  The role seemed to be less strategy, and more just providing the documentation.  Although I’m comfortable with MS Project, I can’t say that spending most of my day recording milestones is my idea of the ideal job.   The company deemed my communications and problem-solving skills to be very high, so they’d be willing to consider me for other roles, and the staffing agency is already looking.  The company is a large bank with many positions, so there is still hope here.  They pay well, and I’m quite flexible on the role to just get in the door.  
  2. The No (and I’m glad):  a somewhat disastrous interview for a non-profit position.  This was the “hidden” job market opportunity I mentioned in an earlier post. I knew little about the position in advance of the interview.   While it’s a worthy cause, this is a coalition management position, reporting to a steering committee comprised of members of different organizations.  Funding for the position will be eliminated in about six months, so a key element of the job is development.  Yes: a new role, with many responsibilities, including finding funding within six months, under the direction of a group of people with conflicting agendas. Is it just me, or does that sound like a recipe for disaster? Oh, and the position is currently funded to be a poorly paid 20 hours a week.  I probably wasn’t deemed qualified due to my lack of experience in grant writing, but I don’t think it is sour grapes to say this is probably not the right role for me anyway.  Instead, I think I should say a prayer for the poor soul who does take this on.
  3. The Probably No (darn it!): Had the grueling interview I mentioned in an earlier post for another financial services firm which included a logic question, seriously prepared peer interviewers, and a hiring manager with wonderful technical and people skills.  I want this job.  I liked the people, the company, and the role, but sense that I might not be their leading contender after their in-person interviews  (which was the third interview in the process).   I’m hoping I’ll get closure on this next week, although it may take longer than that.
  4. The Question Mark:  Had what was supposed to be a second interview with an HR person for yet another company.  We were on the phone all of ten minutes. I still don’t have much sense of what the actual job will require, or if it is a good fit for me.  I suspect that the interviewer didn’t know, either.  She set up an in-person interview with the actual hiring manager for a later date, so it appears that in this company, the hiring managers are tasked with doing their own candidate screening through interviews.  This doesn’t seem very effective to me. Not sure if this bodes well for the company.

In summary, I’m getting interviews, lots of interview practice, and some constructive feedback about what has not gone well, so I’m still optimistic about my chances of landing somewhere reasonably soon.  

I wish my fellow job seekers good luck , too. Unless of course, you’re one of the candidates for the job I want!

Leave a Reply

